“We’re Doing Fine”

Posted on September 21, 2009

0


What is it about me that makes me want to check on and micro manage everything I can?

We had two boy children visit our house last night, so the logical thing was for Lilly to entertain them in the Boy Room. I fed them popcorn, dry Cap’n Crunch Berries, and chocolate chips… with napkins and a rule about wiping our hands before we touch stuff so we don’t get anything messy.

I kept going in to check on them and make sure they were all okay, and that the room itself was okay. Lilly can’t exactly be trusted to remember all the rules all the time, especially with the distraction of a boy, and not just any boy… a cute eleven year old boy who likes wizards AND Pokemon.

At one point I went into the hallway to go to the bathroom and I heard a little boy voice (which belongs to one of the most adorable children ever, who Suzanne kept threatening to steal) say “We’ew dew-een fine.”

I decided that I was checking on them a little too often.

Posted in: Parenting, Tweens