A Day of Spring

Posted on April 26, 2010

0


A. As in One. A day of spring. Tomorrow will be more like Summer, and then Winter will be back on Wednesday and stay through the weekend.

Because of the one-day-spring thing, this is a suuuuper quick, not very well thought out post.  Because the weather is going to turn bad quickly, I need to run to Idaho Falls and Pocatello tomorrow.  (I have two trips booked already for May, and I sort of just want to get everything that I need to do, done so that I can relax a little bit and stick closer to home).  Idaho Falls is about a 3 hour drive, and in order to be home at a decent hour tomorrow night, I have to run-run-run, and be on the road by about 6am.

This outfit started with the fact that I got my first-ever pedicure yesterday.  It continued with I had two pairs of clean jeans, one that is too long for flats and one that is too skinny for flats, so the obvious conclusion was that I needed to wear a skirt, since all of my open sandals are flat.  Enter the fact that my legs are pasty white and I lucked out in the spider vein department and can’t stand the thought of baring them without at least a little bit of color.

I bought this gray denim skirt at Torrid during the extra 50% off clearance, even though it is shorter than I would normally wear.  I decided that I could pull it off with leggings for spring and fall, and tights and boots next winter, so it would be okay.  This sweater is from Ann Taylor Loft, purchased with 40% off clearance plus 30% off with a  “Friends and Family” email.  I thought that it would contrast with the gray and black, and it is the perfect weight for a spring day, and a great color for a busy work day.   Dark colors show dust marks and light colors get dirty quickly, so a bright color is usually a good choice.  The silver sandals came into the equation because the other option was red and I wasn’t really interested in a Christmas-Tree vibe.

I got the sandals at Target several years ago for $5.  I thought at the time that even if I only wore them once, I would get my money’s worth.  I have worn them many, many times and they are one of those pieces that I wish would last forever.

Accessorizing was easy.  I didn’t want anything that would compete with the sweater or the sandals, so I chose these silver openwork earrings with little gem stones.  I got them on clearance at Christopher and Banks this winter, and I adore them because they are multicolored and sparkley, so they go with a lot of things and they are bright and cheery.

