A Glimpse Into Another Life

Posted on May 23, 2010

0


Do you ever wonder what it would be like to swap lives with someone who has a very opposite life from yours? Even for a day? I think a lot of moms, whether they work outside of the home or not, think about it a lot.  What would life be like with no family to take care of? Nobody asking you for things? Nobody talking when you just want to sit quietly?

I’ve thought about it a lot, and I always come to the conclusion that I don’t know what I would do without the mayhem that is my daily life.  I don’t think I would like it very much.  I think I would get bored.  I’m thankful for everything I have and I wouldn’t change much. (What I would change are impossible things, like a home that cleaned itself and didn’t cost anything…)

Today was a “Me” Day.   I had the day all to myself.  I slept until past noon (If you don’t count waking up to see the boys off at about 6am and then going back to sleep).  I didn’t leave the house until about 6:30pm (and even then, I didn’t get dressed, brush my hair, or apply make-up).  I did 2 loads of laundry (one is still in the dryer, the other is still in the washer.  Both will make more progress before I go to bed).  I drank coffee on what my guy refers to as “The Veranda” (um, it’s a covered porch off of the kitchen).


I brewed Tazo Passion tea (to ice it) and put it in my new Pyrex Carafe.  The carafe is perfect because it’s Pyrex so it can handle heat… I tied 7 tea bags together and then suspended them inside from a chopstick resting across the top.

For lunch, I ate leftover taco fillings from earlier this week with tortilla chips.

I went grocery shopping.  For various reasons, I don’t have to feed my family dinner for the next few days, so I just got what I would want to eat.  In awesome single girl fashion, I chose strawberry tangy frozen yogurt (I almost got the single serving size but changed my mind and went for the regular carton), a small assortment of nuts, some dried fruit, vegetables, a box of granola, and a couple of things to make cookies.

For dinner I think I’ll have frozen yogurt, maybe with the granola.

Days like today make me grateful for the day-to-day running around that is my regular life.  By about 12 hours on my own, I started to feel lonely and slightly stir-crazy.  At one point I even organized my manicure supplies and my jewelry.  Now that’s ridiculous.


Posted in: Adventures