A new dress and an old favorite

Posted on June 8, 2010

2


Day two turned out to be much better than day one.   Maybe it was because it wasn’t Monday, or maybe it was because I didn’t have to rush at all this morning.  Li’l and I had a breakfast date which I had taken the morning off of work for.  We ended up going to the Coffee Shop at the Little America Hotel downtown.  We used to go there, years ago, once in a while.  She had no memory of going there, which is fine because I am happy to have the place give us new memories.  It is one of my favorite places in the city… Maybe because it feels like a tiny vacation.  The music is soothing, the dining chairs have a sort of island feel to them, and the food is simple, traditional, and perfectly, simply, traditionally delicious.  I had eggs, ham, and cottage potatoes.  Li’l had the french toast (slices of french bread so thick she could hardly cut them with just her fork, which is a GREAT thing) and we shared a dish of fresh fruit.

I wasn't posing, I was just talking to Max.

Sally’s rules for the Black-Out Challenge state that black shoes and accessories are allowed.  I tried really hard to make red shoes play nicely with the dress, but they didn’t feel like it.  Also my toes didn’t feel like wearing pointy shoes today, so I listened.  In my old age I’m learning to listen to my body.  After the black shoes came on board, the belt and the earrings joined in on the fun.

I got this Liberty of London for Target dress for about six dollars on the clearance rack last month.  I love a lot of things about it, mostly its length.  The belt was purchased a few months ago for either 50 cents or a quarter at a thrift store.  This is the first wearing for both of them, though I am sure they will get many more.

I’m not wearing anything local or handmade today, which is fine because my challenge is to buy that way, not dress that way.  I did eat that way though… The Little America Hotel is a local company, and Girl Coworker and I had lunch at the Mediterranean Market  on State Street at 39th South.  Oh my goodness I love their Greek salad.

