Time Flies Even When You’re Not Having Fun.

Posted on August 7, 2010

2


I haven’t posted much lately.  The past few weeks have been a trial between not feeling well and various issues with my “Big Family” (meaning the family from which I came, as opposed to the family which I have created.)  My  big family consists of a whole pile of brothers and sisters, a few parents, and some step-brothers.  When I try to look on the bright side of things, it is easy to notice that when our family has trials, they always end up bringing us closer together.

We finally got our mother moved on about July 21st.  She was supposed to be out of her home by the 15th, and it wouldn’t have happened even by the 6-days-late point if my youngest brothers hadn’t driven from California to help.  They brought their hard working attitudes and an F-350 pick up truck.  They had another reason for coming here too.  It involved my other younger brother but I’m not sure I’m ready to write about it here yet, but I have been alluding to on Twitter since last week.   It was good to see my little brothers, they don’t come to visit very often.  I don’t think I’d seen the youngest one since he left in February.

I’ve spoken with my dad via text message, on the phone, or both almost every day since Thursday the 28th, which is more than I think we have done either of those things all year.  The issue with my brother Bugg has necessitated communication as we arrange how to help and be there for him.  I’ve also talked to my older brother more in the past month than I have in a long time.  There aren’t any weird family issues that keep us from talking, it’s just that we aren’t super communicators in general and when you add two time zones (he’s on the east coast)  and the fact that we both work more-than full time jobs plus have families and children of our own, there just isn’t a lot of time.

Things have calmed down a bit now.  Mom is settled in to the new small place and not complaining as much about all of the things that we had to get rid of.  Bugg is, as of yesterday, where he will be for the next however many months or  years,  and I’ve put a ban on business travel for myself for the month of August.

Posted in: Mishaps