I Love This… City. And… These People.

Posted on September 6, 2010

4


I’m not talking about Salt Lake City.  I do love my chosen home city, but there’s another city that has a piece of my heart.

This city is home to things and people that I love a lot.   There are some of the world’s best french fries (I’ve written about the ones at Mitchell’s Truck Stop before).  The fries at BrownStone Restaurant and Brewhouse are also hard to beat.  They might even win, based on their proximity to great beer (um, very same place!)  I discovered BrownStone on a business trip last year while searching for lunch with a colleague and oh.my.goodness.  I wasn’t aware at the time that things such as that existed in Idaho Falls.  They do.

Idaho Falls has an adorable downtown.  On Wednesday nights in the Summer, they host Alive after Five which features live music and beer on tap, in the street.  Can it get any better? Add a hot dog cart and yes, it can.  On a recent trip, my friend Mike, who I’ve known since Junior High, picked me up at my hotel and we headed over.  I hadn’t eaten since breakfast, so the obvious right thing to do was have a beer for dinner, and then another one.  We met up with Mike’s brother DeWayne, (who I could go on and on about with stories from his younger years and his adventures as my older brother’s best friend) his adorable wife Jen, and her cousin Rob.  We all got hot dogs for dessert.

It started to rain right as Alive After Five was wrapping up, and the group of us headed over to a place called Vino Rosso, which, again, surprised me.  A lot.  It is a combination live music venue, wine store, and bar.  We had a ton of fun dancing, it isn’t often that I get to cut up like that at home.  The other great thing about Idaho is that the liquor laws are different from Utah, and they have Stella Artois on tap at most places, so of course I drank it up.

We had tons of fun on our adventure, but the night wasn’t over.  My friends refused to let me forget that I owed them a karaoke rendition of Poison’s “Talk Dirty to Me”.  That’s right.  We’ve gone out for karaoke before,  but I’ve never been “In the mood” (read: Drunk enough) to sing.  All you need to know is that I did it. Jen helped me. DeWayne took pictures.

Don't Worry, We Walked.

I’m so glad that these people are my friends!  When we were young, I was Bill’s annoying little sister and I’m sure DeWayne did a lot of eye rolling and wishing I would go away.  If he did, he never let on.  He has always been one of the nicest, most genuine guys I know.   Jen is amazing.  She’s smart and beautiful and I regret that we don’t live closer to each other because I think we would make good girl friends, and good girl friends are hard to come by.  They are so lucky to have each other!  They are fantastic and we always have so much fun together.   They make Idaho Falls an even better place to visit.

