Cheesy Tomato Pasta

Posted on September 26, 2010

1


This afternoon I was hungry for lunch, so I went to the kitchen.  I saw tortilla chips and thought “Nachos” but  we only had muenster, cotija, and mozzarella cheeses in the fridge.  I remembered a can of diced tomatoes with oregano and basil that I had seen in the cabinet and decided to go Italian style.

Here’s the “Recipe” (remember I measure in glugs, etc.) … It made about 2 cups of the cheesey stuff.

I made a roux with about 2 Tablespoons butter and  2 Tablespoons of  flour.  (Melt the butter, whisk in the flour.  Lowish heat.  That’s what “Make a roux” means.)  I was out of milk, so I checked to make sure I had enough half and half for tomorrow’s coffee, then  poured in a few glugs, then a few more.  (You can’t really mess up) then  I threw in a handful of mozzarella cheese (because that’s all that was shredded and I didn’t feel like opening/shredding the muenster, although it would have been great in this).  I whisked it all together, then drained the tomatoes and poured them in.

Easy.

Now, if I was taking time and this wasn’t just a thrown together lunch for my own self, and I wanted to actually make this, I would have blanched  (drop them in boiling water for about 30 seconds) and peeled the tomatoes, chopped them up, added them to sauteed onion and garlic, seasoned them with oregano and basil myself, and then put them into the cheese sauce.

Now, here’s where I’m lucky: I for sure did not eat all of the sauce for my lunch, so it got to become tonight’s dinner.   I’m mixed it with corn/quinoa veggie curls pasta, topped it with shredded mozzarella, muenster, diced fresh tomatoes, and panko bread crumbs, then bake it in the oven for a sort of  fancy grown up mac and cheese.

