Salad Dressing. Cupcakes. Don’t Even Worry About It.

Posted on March 13, 2011

3


Last Thursday was one of the guys I work for’s birthday.   Nobody told me.  What were they thinking? Don’t they know who I am? Don’t they know I will take any reason I can to make a treat?

I decided that I would bring cupcakes on Monday, which means I would bake them tonight.  I searched my favorite recipe blogs for a cake recipe that I a)had time for and b)had all of the ingredients for, but as much as I love my bakey girls, I had to turn to another source.  The shelf full of cookbooks from the 1950s through 1970s that I have been collecting at random for a few years.

I grabbed this one:

Oh yeah, and that's my beige electric stove. You're jealous. I know.

I flipped to the back to look at the index, and under “Cakes” I found two recipes that seemed equally horrific/awesome.  One will be saved for a later date.  Possibly a 70s themed party. The one I chose was this:

Um. WHAT?

Not the Brandied Fruit Cake, But the Salad Dressing Cake.  Obviously.  Because why wouldn’t I try something like that?  Miracle Whip goes bad in my friedge anyway, because I never use it fast enough.  This seemed like a good way to get a few laughs, try something new, and prevent waste from spoilage.  I followed the recipe exactly, except I used half regular flour and half whole wheat flour.  I did sift them, and I did toss the bits left behind by the whole wheat flour, so who knows how much benefit it has in the end, but whatever.  The other change I made (obviously) is that I baked them in mini cupcake pans at 350 for 10 minutes.

When they came out of the oven, they had the cutest domed tops that I thought it would be a shame to cover them up with buttercream.  Instead, I decided to just dress them up a little bit with a buttery vanilla glaze.  Here’s the recipe for that: I melted half a stick of butter, whisked in about a teaspoon of vanilla extract and a couple of glugs of skim milk.  I poured in a bunch of powdered sugar and about 1/2 teaspoon sea salt, then some more milk, and some more sugar, until it seemed like the right viscosity and the right amount of  glaze.

What they turned into was this:

Vintage Radness in Cupcake Form

 

