Who would have thought I’d be stoked about chess club?

Posted on March 25, 2011

3


Me: I’m going to go to lunch, then I’m going to go pick up Li’l Girl from Chess Club.

Friend: You know you’re setting up her future by letting her go to Chess Club, right?

Me: Yes.  Yesterday she went to Science Club.

Friend: Shit. You’re NEVER going to be a grandma.

Me: I’d rather never be a grandma, then be a grandma when I’m 38.

________________________________________________________

(After she FINALLY came out of the school, nearly 20 minutes after Chess Club ended)

Her: I’m SO SORRY!! I got caught up in a game!

Me: You’re fine! I’m glad you were caught up in a game.

________________________________________________________

Li’l Girl is a unique kid.  She’s very nerdy, but in a (most-of-the-time) endearing way.  I’m so proud of her for wanting to be involved in things after school.  A few months ago she was so withdrawn and anxious that I wasn’t sure that even going to school would work out.  She’s doing great, catching up, and gaining more self confidence every day.

I’ll be a grandma. Maybe to grand babies who live in my basement with her and her boyfriend named Wolf and build dream catchers, but she’s going to turn out just fine.

Posted in: Parenting, Tweens