The “skinny bitch” isn’t looking at you.

Posted on July 11, 2011

1


I promise. She’s not judging you. She probably doesn’t even know you’re there. She is looking at other skinny girls. She either hates them for being more toned or more flexible than she is, or she’s taking notes. She is watching their every move, and far too busy to worry about you.

“Curvy” girls are watching each other too. But we aren’t judging. We are pushing each other. We are inspiring each other. Not necessarily in a “Come on sister! Fat bottom girls make the rockin’ world go round” type of way, or in a “We can be skinny too if we work hard!” Type of way, although yes, we absoutely share those moments.

The skinny girls who don’t know each other don’t smile and say hi to each other. We do. We find each other and smile in kind of a mutual sigh of relief, as in “Oh. You’re here too. We can do this.” Then we both think “Oh. Shit.”

And then we push each other by the fact that none of us wants to be the most out of shape girl in the room. And you know what? I’m totally fine with that. The girl about my same size was scared and needed to be in the back of the Body Combat class. There was another girl who was new, and said she didn’t want to be in the front. So I went to the front.

I survived. Also, I feel like I got more out of the class than I usually do in the back. I hope girl-my-size got more out of it too and that one day someone will guilt her into being brave enough to move to the front.

